DOJ announces appointment of prosecutors in the National Prosecution Service

04 December 2014

The Department of Justice welcomes the promotional and original appointment of one hundred twenty-two (122) prosecutors by President Benigno S. Aquino III. Earlier this week, the appointment papers of the said prosecutors were received by Department of Justice, to be transmitted to each of the appointees. It should be underscored that the President appointed prosecutors in almost all offices of the National Prosecution Service (i.e., National Capital Region, Regions I to XIII and Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao).

“We in the Department, especially the National Prosecution Service, have been eagerly anticipating these appointments to posts in the various prosecution offices all over the country, especially the original appointments of new prosecutors. Their assumption into office will hopefully allow us to redistribute the admittedly heavy workload of our current prosecutorial force and, thus, expedite the resolution of cases before the NPS. The promotional appointments, on the other hand, have created new vacancies in addition to existing ones, which we will endeavor to fill with new prosecutors who are not only competent, but also have strong work ethic and reputation for integrity, and who will be able to discharge their functions impartially and outside the influence of partisan politics,” said Secretary of Justice Leila M. De Lima.

As a final note, the Department of Justice eagerly awaits the release of the other appointments that are still with the Office of the President. Undoubtedly, the immediate release of the same shall enable the DOJ achieve its zero backlog policy of its cases and ultimately improve the administration of the criminal justice system in our country.

More News Articles

We are ISO Certified